Chanelle McCoy Shares Her Fashion Secrets at the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe

8 Oct
StyleJump's Kelley Burke with her sister Chanelle McCoy at the Prix de l'Arc de Triompe 2013.

StyleJump’s Kelley Burke with Chanelle McCoy at the Prix de l’Arc de Triompe 2013.

Chanelle McCoy has been adding glamour to racecourses around the world for the last number of years, not least since winning the best dressed lady competition at the Galway Races in 2006. Married to Champion Jockey AP McCoy, StyleJump caught up with the Loughrea native at the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe in Paris over the weekend.

You won the Best Dressed competition at Galway in 2006 as Chanelle Burke, how did that feel? Absolutely delighted as I am from Galway so it made it very special.

Chanelle McCoy Galway 2006

Chanelle after winning Best Dressed Lady at the Galway Races in 2006.

What outfit did you wear? “I wore a Christian Lacroix skirt suit with a hat from Olivia Danielle’s shop in Athlone. I didn’t buy the outfit for the Galway Races, I had bought it for Royal Ascot which was in the previous month. I had not planned to enter into the Best Dressed competition and was unsure that morning if I was going to wear a hat or not. My husband told me the outfit was nicer with the hat!”

Is there competition amongst the jockeys’ wives? “No, not competition but we are all pretty fashion aware and always discuss trends and what outfits we are wearing in the run up to a big race meet.”

Where do you get the inspiration for your outfits?
“It is what I have in my wardrobe or not have in my wardrobe. If I am going to buy an outfit it depends on what race meet I am buying for i.e. Cheltenham I will buy a warmer outfit, mainly a coat and for Ascot I will buy a summer outfit.”

“There are a number of shops I would go to where I usually find interesting outfits, there are certain labels I like that have great cuts and colours. Matthew Williamson has lovely edgy skirt suits with a strong colour palette. Red by Valentino usually has well-tailored coats, simple but always with a kick.

“I always go to Bicester village, that is my first port of call when I am shopping for an outfit. It is the biggest retail village in Europe and is 45 minutes from my house, it has over 120 shops, both designer and high street. I am not a follower of trends, I tend to buy something if I like it regardless if it is in season or not.”

Chanelle’s Tips for Dressing for the Races

“I feel it is important to dress appropriately when going to the races. Strappy dresses and short length outfits are not appropriate outfits for the races, that’s just my opinion.

“The weather is a big deciding factor on what outfit I would wear, I usually try and look at the weather forecast ahead of time. Accessories are key to an outfit and it’s very important that the accessories don’t compete with the outfit, they must complement.

“It is also important not to over match your outfit and have everything matching as it can look too matchy matchy which is not chic.

“The hat is key as it is a necessary item to win a best-dressed competition. Full hat, half hat, fascinator – it is very important that the texture of the material in the hat complements the outfit, not to have a felt hat with a summer material.”

The Prix de l’Arc De Triomphe

StyleJump’s Kelley Burke was hot on the heels so our visitors get a glimpse at the style on show at biggest race festival in France. The Prix de l’Arc de Triompe is held on the first Sunday of October each year at Longchamp racecourse.

“Three piece suits were popular with the male racegoers, whereby a waistcoat added to plain suit jacket. The french ladies favoured wide-brimmed and floppy hats over smaller hats and fascinators.” Check out our exclusive gallery!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

