The Ladies of Ladies Day: Joann Murphy

17 Jan

This was from Galway Races 2012. My hat is by Carol Kennelly Millinery, my coat is from Hannon’s Boutique in Castle island and the dress is by Karyn Moriarty in Tralee.  Again my gloves are from eBay and Karyn Moriarty made the bag to match my dress which I wore to the Killarney Races the previous year.

About me! 

I’m Joann Murphy from Kilgarvan in Co Kerry.  I’m a stay at home mom to 4 beautiful children!  Three boys aged 14, 11 and 9 and a baby girl who is 8 months old!

I also have a small online business www.tangro.ie.  Tangro is a comfy cotton onesie you put on after putting on false tan and wear to bed to keep your sheets clean!

Killarney Races 2012

“This was at the Killarney Races in 2012. My headpiece is from Carol Kennelly Millinery, my dress is from Kerry’s Boutique in Killarney and my gloves and bag are from eBay.”

As all my friends were married, my friends and I had no excuse to dress up and wear hats so we decided we would treat ourselves to a day out at the races as its an ideal place to dress up.  As a busy mother of 4 children it’s also a great excuse for me to have a day away from the normal mom duties!   I really enjoy dressing up, wearing hats and going to the races where I have met some lovely people.  It’s a really fun day out.

Have you won any titles? If so what did you win? What would be the Holy Grail to win?

In 2011 I won Most Stylish Hat at the Killarney races, my prize was a trip for 2 to Milan! And in 2012 I won Most Creative Hat at the Dublin Horse Show in the RDS, my prize was a voucher for Beweley’s Hotels, a Makeup Forever Voucher and a case of Blossom Hill wine!  I would love to win a prize at the Galway Races!

“This is from the Killarney Races 2011 where I won Most Stylish Hat. This was my first hat from Carol Kennelly. My dress was made by Karyn Moriarty in Tralee.”

I always start with the hat!   Carol Kennelly the milliner from Tralee and I meet up and discuss what I’d like or different ideas we have and Carol always comes up with a hat that I love!  Then I style the rest of my outfit around the hat.

What are your favourite places to shop for Ladies Day outfits?

For hats, it has to be Carol Kennelly Millinery in Tralee.  For dresses I love Kerry’s Boutique and Mon Amie in Killarney and Jasmine Boutique in Tralee.  There are lots of lovely boutiques in Kerry so we are spoiled for choice for dresses.   For my accessories I usually go to eBay.

What do you think is the secret to being successful at Best Dressed Competitions? 

I think if you are happy with what you are wearing it shows, and if you feel comfortable and smile, you look good.

Who are your style icons?

I think Celia Holman Lee and Lisa Fitzpatrick dress beautifully.  They always look elegant.

What is your favourite accessory?

For me it’s all about the hat!  I love Carol Kennelly Millinery in Tralee.  Carol is an absolute pleasure to deal with and is one of the nicest people I know.  Her designs and ideas are stunning and I always get a hat that makes me feel good when I wear it.

What tips would you give for anyone who wants to enter a Ladies Day competition but has no experience?

Ladies day are more that just being about the competition.  It’s great to go for a day out and meet some many stylish women.  Get a few of your friends together and enjoy the day out too.  Put on something they really feel good in, always wear a hat and accessorize with bag, umbrella and gloves.

What are the big no-nos for ladies who are dressing for the races?

A big no-no would be a dress that’s too short or too bare.

Who is your favourite designer?

I think Victoria Beckham’s dresses are stunning, unfortunately I don’t own any of them… maybe some day!

Dublin Horse Show

This was the Dublin Horse Show 2012 – my hat is by Carol Kennelly Millinery, my dress was by Diva Catwalk which I got online and my accessories are from eBay.

What festivals do you plan on going to this summer?

I hope to go the the Killarney Races in July and the Galway Races and the Dublin Horse Show in August…..Babysitter permitting!

This was the Dublin Horse Show 2012 – my hat is by Carol Kennelly Millinery, my dress was by Diva Catwalk which I got online and my accessories are from ebay.com.

This is from the Killarney Races 2011 where I won most stylish hat.  This was my first hat from Carol Kennelly.  My dress was made by Karyn Moriarty in Tralee.

This was at the Killarney Races in 2012.  My headpiece is from Carol Kennelly Millinery, my dress is from Kerry’s Boutique in Killarney and my gloves and bag are from ebay.com

This was from Galway Races 2012.  My hat is by Carol Kennelly Millinery, my coat is from Hannon’s Boutique in Castle island and the dress is by Karyn Moriarty in Tralee.  Again my gloves are from ebay.com and Karyn Moriarty made the bag to match my dress which I wore to the Killarney Races the previous year.

One Response to “The Ladies of Ladies Day: Joann Murphy”

  1. amanda January 21, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    hello, just wanted to say i loved the blog on ladies day because am hoping to make hats myself and really enjoyed reading about want ladies look for when picking a hat, thank you, amanda

Leave a Reply

