The Ladies of Ladies Day Part One: Elaine Bury

6 Jan
Dublin Horse Show 2012 Ladies Day Runner Up

“This was Ladies Day at the Dublin Horse Show. The dress is Dorothy Perkins, it originally had cap sleeves on it but I bought more material and had it altered for longer sleeves. The ribbon belt is again A. Rubanesque pinned at the back with a brooch and the shoes are Pennys. The hat is the most amazing red bow with a jeweled brooch and pearls on it and a pearl bag. The gloves are from Clerys.”

Hareems of hats, fine fillies and flutes of champers spell a day at the races. With the summer season of racing fast approaching, over the next few weeks I’ll be talking to a number of ladies for their top secret tips.

Elaine Bury, 24, Dunboyne, Co Meath.
First Ladies Day:Grand National, Fairyhouse, 2012
Competitions Runner up, the Dublin Horse Show, 2012.

What is it about Ladies Day that you enjoy?

There’s a few things but mostly I enjoy the day out with the girls. It’s such a great excuse to get glammed up like you never otherwise would and put your best foot forward. Usually there is some photographers attending so it’s pretty cool to have your photo taken and pose for the camera.

Navan Races November 2012

“This was the Navan races in November 2012. It was so cold that day so it was important to be toasty. The coat is Savida again, with a purple ribbon for a belt from A. Rubanesque in the Powerscourt Centre. The hat is a purple felt piece with a gold feather (felt is more of a winter material for hats) from Fortuna as is the bag. The gloves are from the Orchard Garden Centre in Celbridge and the shoes are from New Look.”

Have you won any titles? If so what did you win? What would be the holy grail to win?

I only started going to Ladies Day’s in April of last year so I was very excited when I was placed 2nd at the Dublin Horse Show in August 2012. The prize was fantastic, I received a dress of my choice from Fran and Jane, a night’s stay in the Dylan Hotel and a makeover and hair style and colour from Toni and Guy. I think the pinnacle of Ladies Day wins in Ireland would be either the Grand National at Fairyhouse or first place at the Horse Show.

Where do you get the inspiration for your outfits from?

Sometimes I’ll just get an idea into my head and run with it or otherwise its usually influenced by fashion trends or movies such as old 1940’s films. A while ago I went to the Newbridge Museum of Style Icons and was bowled over by the fashion there and the ideas it inspires.

20130106-134241.jpg

“This was at the Leopardstown Christmas festival with my friend Claire Sherwin. As you can see its a very similar outfit to the RDS as I really loved it so I added a cape that I bought on eBay. It was originally a poncho for 20e but we cut and hemmed it. I added black gloves with a faux fur trim from Georges St Arcade and a black bag from Pennys and the outfit was adjusted for winter racing and most importantly I was warm!”

What are your favorite places to shop for Ladies Day outfits?

Dorothy Perkins, Pennys and Dunnes Stores, particularly the Savida range. For some accessories such as gloves I use Georges St Arcade and Harlequin. My hats and jewellery all come from the fantastic boutique Fortuna in Dunshaughlin.

What do you think is the secret to being successful at Best Dressed competitions?

A good hat or fascinator. It will make or break an outfit and when you complement it with the right accessories, it will make an otherwise simple outfit stand out a mile.

Who are your style icons?

I love Rita Hayworth for old school glamour and for a more edgy fashion twist I would look to Diane Kruger.

What is your favorite accessory?

My favourite accessory is the hat! It adds so much personality to your outfit and you can go as crazy or as understated as you like. A very close second is gloves though, I think they add the finishing touch.

What tips would you give for anyone who wants to enter a Ladies Day competition but has no experience?

Go for it! There is absolutely nothing to lose and you will have such a good day. For your first time, don’t feel under pressure to get an elaborate outfit, try a simple dress or coat and then use accessories such as a bag, gloves or jacket to build it up.

What are big no-nos for ladies who are dressing for the races?

Dress appropriately. There is nothing worse than seeing ladies wearing nightclub wear on a freezing day at the track. Try keep it knee length or below and dress for the weather.

Who is your favorite designer?

I don’t really have one but I admire Victoria Beckham’s range for its tailoring and simplicity. My dream dress would be a Marchesa floor length gown. Gorgeous!

What festivals do you plan on going to this summer?

I will go to the Dublin Horse Show of course, and the Curragh for the Dubai Duty Free.

The Grand National at Fairyhouse, 2012

Lisa Kennedy (left), Elaine Bury and Eileen Sutton (right) at The Grand National, Fairyhouse.
“This was my first Ladies Day, and I’m wearing a dress by Savida, jacket from H&M, shoes are my sisters from New Look, gloves and bag are Clerys, and the hat is Fortuna. The theme was a touch of red, so I sewed a red fabric flower onto my jacket and clutch.”

One Response to “The Ladies of Ladies Day Part One: Elaine Bury”

  1. security needs July 24, 2014 at 1:31 pm #

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow,
    just wanted to say great blog!

Leave a Reply

